Pine Lake Ski School is committed to safety first when it comes down to boating operation and pulling a skier.
When it is your turn to pull a skier, you need to be aware of the laws of the waterways and skier hand signals
The Michigan Department of Natural Resources has a complete handbook of all the Michigan Boating Laws & Requirements – a must read before you get behind the wheel of a boat. Stay abreast of new boating laws by calling the Michigan Department of Natural Resources at (517) 373-1230 or visit www.michigan.gov/dnr/
Here is the law regarding pulling a skier or other device:
Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis or a similar device have additional laws they must follow. Requirements for towing skiers:
It is illegal to tow skiers, surfboards, or any device of this type between:
- One hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise if towed behind a vessel
- One hour before sunset and 8:00 AM if towed behind a PWC
Persons being towed must stay at least 100 feet away from:
- Any moored or anchored vessel
- A dock or raft
- Any marked swimming area or person(s) in the water
Those being towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard Approved Type I, II, or III PFD. Those under 12 years of age must wear a Type I or II PFD. Inflatable PFDs may not be used.
Every vessel towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard or a similar device must have a person, in addition to the vessel operator, observing the towed person(s) at all times.
SKIING HAND SIGNALS